Home | Join Now | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In
News & Press: News

MPhA Past President Steve Simenson Honored — You Can Participate

Friday, May 26, 2017  
Posted by: Jasper McCroskey
Share |

Steve Simenson CEO and managing partner of Goodrich Pharmacy, Inc.

Steve Simenson, a 1977 (BPharm) graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy and CEO and managing partner of Goodrich Pharmacy, Inc., has been selected by the University's Board of Regents to receive the Outstanding Achievement Award. The award is the U's highest non-degree honor.

Join the College in celebrating Steve as he receives the award from University President Eric Kaler at a reception on Wednesday, June 28, 4-6 p.m. at Eastcliff.


Steve was recognized for his innovation in pharmacy practice, and his leadership in his community and pharmacy in both Minnesota and nationally.

"Steve is perhaps the state of Minnesota's foremost community pharmacist who is often recognized nationally as a key example of what a community pharmacy and pharmacist can do to bring direct patient care services to its patients," said Marilyn Speedie, dean of the College of Pharmacy. "In a profession that is changing its focus from product to patient care, Steve is a pioneer and a leader. He demonstrates what is possible and then helps others do it as well."

He joined Goodrich pharmacy of Anoka in 1981. Under his leadership, the practice has grown to six locations and the services offered have expanded from traditional dispensing services to include immunizations, asthma management, blood-pressure monitoring, cholesterol screening, custom compounding (human and veterinary), diabetes management, medication therapy management, smoking cessation, as well as health services to employers.

He was instrumental in Goodrich Pharmacy becoming one of the first pharmacy practices to be connected to a health system's patient electronic medical record. This connectivity is now a national model for improving patient care by facilitating interdisciplinary practice.

He is a renowned pharmacy leader who has served as president of the Minnesota Pharmacists Association in 2000, and of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) in 2014. He has been recognized for his leadership with a number of awards, including fellowship status in APhA, the Bowl of Hygiea Award, and the Distinguished Pharmacist Award from the Pharmacy Alumni Society. He also serves on the college's National Board of Advisors, and as a mentor and preceptor to pharmacy students and residents

    Minnesota Pharmacists Association


    1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 651.697.1771 Fax: 650.290.2266 Email: info@mpha.org

    © 2020 MPhA. All Rights Reserved. Site Map. Email Deliverability.