Home | Join Now | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In
News & Press: News

Steve Simenson Receives University of Minnesota’s Highest Alumni Award

Friday, June 30, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

MPhA Past President Steve Simenson received the University of Minnesota’s Outstanding Achievement Award from President Eric Kaler at an event on June 28 at Eastcliff. The award is the university’s highest non-degree honor. Simenson is a 1977 (BPharm) graduate of the College of Pharmacy. He is CEO and managing partner of Goodrich Pharmacy, Inc. ((add photos of Steve and event)) Nearly 75 colleagues, friends and family members participated, coming from across the state, the regional and the nation to help recognize the tremendous contributions Steve has made at all levels of pharmacy to advance patient care through pharmacist-provided clinical services.

Simenson was recognized for his innovation in pharmacy practice, his leadership in his community and his pharmacy leadership at the state and national level.

“Steve is perhaps the state of Minnesota’s foremost community pharmacist who is often recognized nationally as a key example of what a community pharmacy and pharmacist can do to bring direct patient care services to its patients,” said Marilyn Speedie, dean of the College of Pharmacy. “In a profession that is changing its focus from product to patient care, Steve is a pioneer and a leader. He demonstrates what is possible and then helps others do it as well.”

Simenson joined Goodrich Pharmacy of Anoka in 1981. Under his leadership, the practice has grown to six locations and the services offered have expanded from traditional dispensing services to include immunizations, asthma management, blood-pressure monitoring, cholesterol screening, custom compounding (human and veterinary), diabetes management, medication therapy management, smoking cessation, as well as health services to employers.

He was instrumental in Goodrich Pharmacy becoming one of the first pharmacy practices to be connected to a health system’s patient electronic medical record. This connectivity is now a national model for improving patient care by facilitating interdisciplinary practice.
Simenson is a renowned pharmacy leader who has served as president of the Minnesota Pharmacists Association in 2000, and of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) in 2014. He has been recognized for his leadership with a number of awards, including fellowship status in APhA, the Bowl of Hygiea Award, and the Distinguished Pharmacist Award from the Pharmacy Alumni Society. Simenson also serves on the COP’s National Board of Advisors, and as a mentor and preceptor to pharmacy students and residents.

Additional photos from the event can be viewed at the MPhA Facebook page.

    Minnesota Pharmacists Association


    1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 651.697.1771 Fax: 650.290.2266 Email: info@mpha.org

    © 2020 MPhA. All Rights Reserved. Site Map. Email Deliverability.